Seven New Members of the Executive Committee Elected 24/02/2015

From 15 October 2014 to 15 February 2015, the European Consortium for Political Research conducted a three-stage process to elect seven of the twelve members to the organisation’s Executive Committee. The elections were supervised by the Speaker of the ECPR Council, Prof. David Farrell and a full report is available. 

No fewer than 18 candidates put their names forward during the nomination stage, which resulted in 15 valid nominations. After the withdrawal of one of the nominations, the Official Representatives of the ECPR member institutions could register their endorsement.  At the end of this stage, 12 candidates were sufficiently endorsed, and their names went into the final ballot. In the voting stage, 155 Official Representatives participated. The newly elected members are (in alphabetical order):

Maurizio Carbone (University of Glasgow)
Kris Deschouwer (Vrije Universiteit Brussel)
Mary Farrell (University of Plymouth)
Reuven Hazan (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Petri Koikkalainen (University of Lapland)
Birgit Sauer (University of Vienna)
Anna M. Sroka (University of Warsaw)

They will join the ongoing members (Rudy Andeweg, Klaus Goetz, Ólafur Th. Hardarson, Richard Katz and Luca Verzichelli) in the 2015-2018 Executive Committee which will take office after the Joint Sessions in Warsaw, on 31 March 2015.

ECPR Stein Rokkan Prize – Submit by 15 February 2015 02/02/2015
Established by the ISSC in 1981, the Stein Rokkan Prize for Comparative Social Science Research celebrates his immense legacy by rewarding substantial and original contributions in comparative social science research. It includes a $5000 award. The Prize is managed by the ECPR and generously supported by the University of Bergen. The ISSC, ECPR, and the University of Bergen are delighted to announce that the nomination process for the 2015 Prize is now open.
The prize is open to works in comparative studies from all social science disciplines. Submissions can be a monograph or collected works published no more than two years before the award year. The winner receives a diploma and a cash prize, which is awarded during an ISSC Executive Committee or General Assembly meeting, or at a World Social Science Forum. Submissions should be sent by email to Marcia Taylor at before 15 February 2015. Further information can be found here.
Final Call for Panels and Papers for the General Conference 26/01/2015

The ECPR's General Conference is its largest event, often bringing together some 2,500 political scientists from throughout the world. The 2015 Conference is taking place at Université de Montréal – the ECPR’s first ever event to be held outside of Europe. The list of Sections has been finalised; and the call is open for Full Panels and individual Papers.  Since this is a combined stage, individuals are able to propose to a Section, either a Panel including 4 – 5 Papers or individual Papers. Further information explaining the stages in detail can be found in the Guidelines

The deadline for Panel and Paper submissions is 16 February 2015. If you have any further questions, please email the General Conference Team 

A compilation of innovative, agenda-setting essays charting the emergence of new migration patterns and politics in Europe.

Tackling, multiculturalism, immigrant integration, free movement, high-skilled mobilities, new East-West migrations and regional integration, Adrian Favell offers a comprehensive introduction to the dynamic field of international migration studies.

Moving fluidly across intellectual boundaries as much as national borders, Favell points the way to new thinking in this rapidly evolving interdisciplinary field. 

'Adrian Favell is a maverick. His work is always interesting, pushing the boundaries of ‘normal’ social science and expanding our knowledge of human mobility in all its dimensions… A collection of his most provocative essays, sure to top the reading list of every serious scholar of migration.'
James F Hollifield, Southern Methodist University, Dallas